Watershed Names New Officers

New Shell Rock River Watershed District officers were elected Tuesday.

Dan DeBoer, former vice chairman, was elected chairman at the Shell Rock River Watershed District board of managers meeting.

Gary Pestorius,  former chairman , was elected vice chairman;Al Bakken, former secretary, was elected treasurer; and Mick Delger was elected secretary.

DeBoer, 59, who has served on the board for three years, said being chairman will allow him to give back to the community.

“I just love being a part of it,” he said.

Bruce Haugsdal, former treasurer; Mike Hanson and Joe Pacovsky will remain as managers.

DeBoer said he wants to increase communication between the Watershed District, Freeborn County Board of Commissioners, Albert Lea City Council and the Lakes Foundation, noting he thinks communication between organizations is the only way the entities will move forward to benefit the community.

The need for more communication between the government entities has been expressed during the Watershed District’s request for an extension of its half-percent sales tax.

As chairman, DeBoer said he will conduct meetings and keep the board’s operation flowing.

DeBoer is the owner of Albert Lea-based Pro Advantage.

The election of officers is a yearly process. Managers serve three-year terms.

Freeborn County Administrator John Kluever held the election and swore in Bakken, Delger and DeBoer for terms on the board.

© 2015 Shell Rock River Watershed District, 305 S 1st Avenue, Albert Lea, MN 56007